To Older People in Big Cars

Ma’am, sir, please speed up.

I know that green light up there seems like it will stay green forever, but it won’t. I know what you’re thinking: it’s a beautiful, sunny June day, why not drive slow and enjoy it? Some of us, unfortunately, don’t have that luxury.  My Civic doesn’t have a functioning air conditioning unit, which means that those 3 minutes spent sitting at the light, though perfectly bearable for you–windows up, a/c blasting in your giant late-model Tahoe–for me result in stale, damp, and insufferably hot air sitting on top of me like a half-dried wool blanket. And sure, you may pay good, hard-earned money for those 30 gallons you pump into your luxury vehicle every week, and it may seem that that entitles you to go as fast or slow as you please. But for the sake of me and my sunburnt left arm, keep up with the flow of traffic.

Besides, it seems like people your age should be in a hurry. You’ve got the least amount of time left!

By the way, can you tell me where I can pick up a pair of those stylish shades?

Impatiently yours,

Alex

This entry was posted in Alex, ruminations. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to To Older People in Big Cars

  1. Lauren J aka Iss says:

    It’s pretty amazing that you’ve lived with so many summers in your civic without air conditioning, Z! How have you not melted by now?

  2. MOM says:

    I remember once when you were about 8 years old, you threw-up because you got so hot. So, maybe you’d better carry some bags in your car…..Being an “old person”, I will try to keep your distress in mind, and take off like a race car from now on. (burning more fuel??)

    • Strangely enough, I don’t remember that, but it makes perfect sense. Also, it’s not about accelerating really fast from stoplights, it’s about keeping up with the flow of traffic so you don’t have to stop at all. Also, no quotes are needed around that phrase, Mom. I’ve seen your sunglasses…

Leave a comment